• Americas

15 Questions: Get to Know Lorie Damon

Damon, Lorie_NewHeadshot

Get to know Lorie Damon, Managing Director, in our St. Louis office.

Where did you grow up, and where do you live now?
Although I was born in Washington, DC, I grew up in western Maryland, in a small town in the Appalachian Mountains, surrounded by my close knit family. After stints in Indiana, Virginia, Massachusetts, and Maryland (again), I now live in St. Louis, but I still go “home” to western Maryland as most of my family continues to live there.

What was your first job?
I launched a successful babysitting business in middle school (at $2/hour) and earned enough to fund half of a trip to Germany as an exchange student. My parents agreed to fund the other half, though neither had ever been on an airplane, or north of Pennsylvania. My first professional job was as an adjunct English professor at Virginia Tech.

What is your favorite part about your job?
Working closely with our teams to deliver exceptional service tailored to our clients’ specific needs. Many of our healthcare clients are undergoing tremendous transformations in the fundamental business of delivering care. Our teams are adapting alongside our clients, showing incredible commitment, flexibility, and creativity to help our clients advance their missions of providing care more cost-effectively.

What did you read today?
I love good writing—regardless of genre. I just finished What My Mother Gave Me, a collection of essays curated by Elizabeth Benedict. Before that, Toni Morrison’s A Mercy.

What skills / qualities do you look for when hiring someone?
When hiring, I always look for someone who is curious about how the industry works, asks a lot of questions, is persistent in the face of challenges and has exceptional communication skills.

Favorite afternoon pick me up?
A cup of tea and an apple.

What time of day do you enjoy most?
Early morning, before anyone else is awake. I spend the quiet time organizing my day, polishing off any stray items on my to do list, or occasionally, just puttering.

Chris and ZachWhat is the one thing in life you value most?
My amazing family—my husband and son, who take my crazy travel schedule in stride, and my extended family whom we see as often as we can. This year, we’ll enjoy a family reunion with my husband’s family and a mini-reunion with mine as we celebrate my parents’ golden anniversary.

 

What is your favorite meal?
Just about anything that my husband makes. He never uses a recipe; he just creates as he goes and cleans out the fridge in the process. His pasta sauces are amazing, and he loves to make Carolina barbecue. When the barbecue hits the grill, our neighbors are not far behind.

What is the one thing in the world you are most proud of?
My Ph.D. Writing a dissertation was incredibly challenging, but the effort taught me tremendous analytical discipline, the fundamentals of innovating and developing new ways of thinking, and of course, project management skills. I also came away with the most tremendous friends. Graduate school was a bit like boot camp for nerds.

How do you recharge?
With a good book or newspaper and a glass of wine.

Describe yourself with 3 words.
Tenacious. Passionate. Articulate.

Eiffel Tower at NightDescribe one experience you’ve had where you took a huge leap of faith?
Leaving academia for corporate life. It’s not a choice many of my colleagues make, but I’ve had a really interesting career. And I don’t miss grading papers at all.


What are the 3 things you never leave home without?

Wallet, phone, water bottle. And keys. Definitely need the keys.

When you’re not in the office, what do you enjoy doing?
I enjoy making desserts, especially ice cream. I also enjoy traveling with my family and exploring new places. This past summer, we visited Paris.

Do you enjoy getting to know our employees? Learn more about our #LiveWorkPlay company culture by checking out Cushman & Wakefield on Instagram.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

  • Regions

© 2017 Cushman & Wakefield, Inc.